Baseball in Stilettos…

Hey all!  I’ve decided to change the name of the blog to Baseball in Stilettos, for the following reasons (not so much as reasons, but because it gives the blog an interesting twist):

-I’m 22.  I’m not just living and breathing baseball (although at times that may be true)…I try to maintain a a fun social life in between games…and I’m always attired in… STILETTOS!

-Not only do I have a unique behind-the-scene view of Minor (and Major) League Baseball; that view is coming from a girl. 

-I’m trying to work hard and excel at my job  just like everyone else, except I’m teeter-tottering on my heels through the sacred world of baseball, run predominately by males.

-Turf or grass, MLB or MiLB, GM or Intern….everyone has a story and journey, and here is mine: A 22-year-old’s Summer in the FSL: Stadiums, Stilettos, and Strikes.

Great book title, no?  I’ll stick to the blog.

Miracle season starts a week from tonight!

 

Also, George Toma did NOT attend my 22nd Beach Birthday Bash (capitalized to emphasize the importance of that day we so luckily had off), but he DID give me a copy of the book he wrote, “The Nitty Gritty Dirt Man,” and wrote the following in the front cover (“and then some” is HIS quote) :

To: “Natalie”
Happy Birthday to a wonderful young lady and a tireless worker.  It’s a real inspiration 
to watch you work.  The difference between average people and top people is that you have 
the “and them some”– you do your job “and then some.” You are very thoughtful of 
others–are you considerate and kind “and then some.” You are a great friend to everyone 
and can be counted on in an emergency “and then some.” Whatever you do you leave it 
better than you found it.  Your not just speaking to someone else but offering a smile 
and hand shake.  You are not just listening to someone else but actually caring–also not 
just giving others a smile, but alawys offering a few kind words.  Keep up the excellent 
work.  May all your good fortunes be as numerous as the blades of grass.
“And then some.”
My Best,
George P. Toma
P.F.H.O.F. 2001 

 

What a great keepsake from such an inspirational man.  

np

5 Comments

Filed under Intern, Life, Sports

5 responses to “Baseball in Stilettos…

  1. Devin Foreman

    Stilettos and Baseball.. together?
    Only from you Nat.

  2. OMG. What a great story! I’m so impressed Natalie! Oh yeah ps. I love the new name.

  3. mdbirdlover

    Great name….
    We need more baseball in stilleto girls-

  4. afrankangle

    I agree … great name …. good luck to your Twins as they continue to show that a team can compete and be respectable without going spending crazy!

  5. ScreamingLiner

    Wishing you nothing but the best in your attack on the “old boys’ club”. Kim Ng isn’t the only woman in the world who can run a baseball team. 🙂

    -SL

Leave a Reply

