Chris Parmelee & David Bromberg Feature

 

Parmelee and Bromberg currently play at this beautiful field, Hammond Stadium.

Parmelee and Bromberg currently play at this beautiful field, Hammond Stadium.

Our second Miracle program comes out soon, and our Media Relations Director, Mr. Gary Sharp, graciously allowed me to write a feature on a couple of our players.  After a few tweaks and constructive criticism from my editor ( initials G.S…), I am happy with my story and am looking forward to writing more of them!  As an IU School of Journalism student, I’m just trying keep up on my writing and hopefully display what I have learned while there…see mom and dad, I really do go to class! 

Anyway, I hope you enjoy getting to know two of our great players..our team is full of them!

 

 

LET-M-M

 

 

inor league baseball is a job. It’s a commitment. It’s fun.  For two Fort Myers Miracle players from California, it’s a passion.

Chris Parmelee, the Twins first round pick in the 2006 First-Year Player Draft, has had a passion for the game of baseball since he was four-years-old, playing catch after school with his dad.

“You know the kids you see at the park playing catch with their dad two or three times a week?  That was me, but every single day. All I could think about was baseball,” said the Chino Hills native.

Parmelee credits part of his love for playing everyday to the team chemistry of this year’s Miracle.  Between watching countless movies on road trips and getting together off the field, playing with same guys day in and day out has become fun.

“We definitely all mesh together really well.  Most of us have been playing together for a couple years and all the guys have a great attitude,” said Parmelee.

The soft-spoken 21-year-old’s dedication to the sport is obvious when he talks about his favorite part of the 140 regular-season game schedule.

“There is nothing better for someone who loves baseball to be able to play every day, and there is nothing better than putting on a uniform and going out there.  All I could think about all day when I was younger was playing baseball, and things really didn’t change as I got older,” Parmelee said.

To David Bromberg, the Twins 32nd round pick in the 2005 First-Year Player Draft, baseball gave him an opportunity.

“I hung out with the wrong people when I was younger and I was given a choice: either focus on baseball and start being around the right people or go no where.  I choose baseball,” said Bromberg.

Bromberg learned how to carry himself on and off the field, even when he’s not successful. 

“When I fail, I always ask how I am going to carry myself to the next start.  I’m a little upset at first, but I just think about what I did and remember that tomorrow, whether it concerns baseball or not, is a new day and pray the Lord be with me,” the tall right-hander said.

The Los Angeles native credits his dad, along with his baseball coach at Pacific Palisades High, Tom Seyler, as the men who have factored in his success, along with one special fan.

J.R. Bromberg, David’s 19-year-old brother, was drafted by the Twins in the 2007 First Year Amateur Player Draft, but now plays at Fresno State.

“We listen to each other’s games when we can,” said Bromberg.  “J.R. calls me up after a game, and I’ll call him after his.  It’s awesome to be able to pump each other up.”

At the end of the day, with the support of his family and coaches, the promising pitcher simply loves baseball.

“I love the game, the fans, and being on the mound.  The little fans are the best, and I’ll always take time to talk to them and sign autographs,” the smiling pitcher said. “ I just want everyone to know there is nothing else I would rather be doing and I’m happy to be here.”

 np

1 Comment

Filed under Baseball, Intern, Life, Sports, Uncategorized, Writing

One response to “Chris Parmelee & David Bromberg Feature

  1. Pingback: 2010 Consolidated List of Non-roster Invitees « Monozygotic

Leave a Reply

